Gibbons Director Lawrence Lustberg Receives Lifetime Achievement Award From TANJ


October 15, 2021

This attorney has been selected for the recognitions mentioned herein, which has been conferred by the corresponding publications and/or organizations noted. An overview of the award selection methodologies for these recognitions can be found at Links to certain specific methodologies are embedded in individual entries. Results may vary depending on your particular facts and legal circumstances. No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey.

The Trial Attorneys of New Jersey (TANJ) has presented its Daniel L. Golden Lifetime Achievement Award to Lawrence S. Lustberg, Co-Chair of the Commercial & Criminal Litigation Group at Gibbons P.C. and longtime Director of the firm’s John J. Gibbons Fellowship in Public Interest & Constitutional Law. He was honored at the organization’s 53rd Annual Trial Bar Awards Reception on October 14 at the Pleasantdale Chateau in West Orange, New Jersey.

TANJ, whose membership includes both plaintiff and defense attorneys from the civil and criminal bars, works to promote the interests of the public at large, litigants involved in civil and criminal cases, and the bench and bar. Its Lifetime Achievement Award celebrates “individual(s) who, by their dedication to the profession, have particularly enhanced the reputation of attorneys and the practice of law through their dedication and exemplary service.” While TANJ typically presents the Lifetime Achievement Award to jurists, elected officials, and other high-level public servants, Mr. Lustberg is the first practicing attorney who has never served in these capacities to earn this distinction since Daniel L. Golden, after whom the award is named, became the first honoree in 1986. Mr. Lustberg is the fourth Gibbons attorney to receive this award, after John J. Gibbons (1992), Daniel J. O’Hern (2001), and James R. Zazzali (2012), all jurists who joined or rejoined the firm upon retiring from the bench.

“If there is any lawyer in New Jersey who enhances the reputation of attorneys and the practice of law and who, without fail, demonstrates dedication and exemplary service, it is Larry,” said Patrick C. Dunican Jr., Chairman and Managing Director of Gibbons. “All of us at the firm are proud of him and congratulate him on this honor.”

Throughout his career, Mr. Lustberg has argued groundbreaking cases before federal and state courts up to the U.S. Supreme Court, and he is well known and highly regarded for his extensive criminal defense, public interest, and pro bono legal work. He is a recognized authority in constitutional and criminal law and procedure, responsible for many seminal federal and state court decisions in a broad range of cases. After serving a pivotal role in the historic 2013 overturning of New Jersey’s ban on same-sex marriage, Mr. Lustberg was named the state’s “Lawyer of the Year” by the New Jersey Law Journal, which also presented him with a Lifetime Achievement Award in 2016. He is the former president of both the Association of the Federal Bar of New Jersey and Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers of New Jersey, each of which has awarded him its highest honor – the William J. Brennan, Jr. Award and Honorable Lawrence A. Whipple Memorial Award, respectively.

Mr. Lustberg has earned numerous other honors, from such organizations as the Lawyers Alliance for New York, Thurgood Marshall College Fund, ACLU of New Jersey, New Jersey Institute for Social Justice, Legal Services of New Jersey, Garden State Equality, Partners for Women and Justice, and Essex County Bar Association, among many others. He has long been listed in Thomson Reuters New Jersey Super Lawyers, Woodward/White Best Lawyers®, and the Chambers USA Guide to America’s Leading Lawyers for Business, and he was included in the inaugural Star Ledger Inside Jersey’s “100+ Club,” recognizing the most influential people in New Jersey.

No aspect of this advertisement has been approved by the Supreme Court of New Jersey. A description of the selection process methodology for the awards referenced is available at