<iframe src="//www.googletagmanager.com/ns.html?id=GTM-NQZ8BZF&l=dataLayer" height="0" width="0" style="display:none;visibility:hidden"></iframe>

Gibbons Announces 2011 Fall Associate Class


October 25, 2011

Gibbons P.C. is pleased to announce its 2011 class of fall associates. Consistent with the firm’s commitment to hiring the most promising new attorneys with the most relevant prior experience possible, each fall 2011 associate has recently completed a judicial clerkship. Our new class comprises four recent federal clerks, for the United States District Courts and Bankruptcy Court, as well as for the Supreme Court of Canada. One member of the Gibbons fall associate class has served as a law clerk in the Supreme Court of New Jersey. Four former Superior Court clerks round out the class. In addition, one of the new fall associates began his Gibbons career as the firm’s first-ever apprentice.

“We could not be more pleased with the quality and potential of these exceptional young attorneys,” says Patrick C. Dunican Jr., Chairman and Managing Director of Gibbons. “They will undoubtedly uphold the Gibbons legacy of excellence.”

Peter J. Torcicollo, the firm’s Director of Professional Development, Recruiting, Associate Retention, and Lateral Hiring, notes, “Our 2011 fall associates have particularly strong experience for such new attorneys, which will serve our clients well.”

The fall associates, along with overviews of their practices, are listed below by office.

John (Jay) J. Cahill, Jr.
Intellectual Property

    • Seton Hall University School of Law (JD, 2010) Tulane University (PhD, 1999)
    • Loyola University (MBA, 1998)
    Saint Anselm College (BA, 1994)

Prior Experience:

    Prior to his legal career, Mr. Cahill served for more than eight years as Director of New Product Development and design engineer/scientist for several employers, designing and bringing to market semiconductor laser diode devices, components, and systems for medical device, defense, telecommunications, and industry. He became first-ever apprentice at Gibbons in 2010.

Lisa Garipian
Business & Commercial Litigation

    • Rutgers School of Law – Camden (JD,

cum laude

    • ; 2010)

Rutgers Law Journal

    • , Lead Notes & Casenotes Editor, 2009-2010, Staff Editor, 2008-2009
    Dean’s Scholar, Fall 2009 and Spring 2010
    • Fordham University (BA, 2006)
    Dean’s List, 2002 – 2003 and 2005 – 2006

Judicial Clerkship:

    The Honorable Harriet Farber Klein, Superior Court of New Jersey, Chancery Division, 2010 – 2011

Jason R. Halpin
Business & Commercial Litigation

    • Seton Hall University School of Law (JD,

magna cum laude

    • , 2010)
    • Editor-in-Chief,

Seton Hall Law Review

    • Order of the Coif
    • Raymond Del Tufo Award for Highest Average in Constitutional Law
    Distinguished Scholar
    Boston University (BS, 2003)

Judicial Clerkship:

    The Honorable Katharine S. Hayden, United States District Court for the District of New Jersey, 2010 – 2011

Brett D. Katz
Business & Commercial Litigation

    • Fordham University School of Law (JD, 2010)
    • Archibald R. Murray Public Service Award
    • Staff Member,

Fordham International Law Journal

    • University of Pittsburgh (BA,

magna cum laude

    , 2007)

Judicial Clerkship:

    The Honorable Robert P. Contillo, Superior Court, Chancery Division, 2010 – 2011

Jonathan D. Klein
Business & Commercial Litigation

    • Rutgers University School of Law – Camden (JD, 2010)
    Mary Philbrook Award
    • Eagleton Institute of Politics
    Henry J. Raimondo Fellow, August 2008 – May 2009
    • University of Delaware (B.A.,

cum laude

    , 2007)

Judicial Clerkship:

    The Honorable Edwin H. Stern (T/A) and the Honorable Virginia Long, Supreme Court of New Jersey, 2010 – 2011

Jonathan M. Manes
John J. Gibbons Fellowship in Public Interest & Constitutional Law

    • Yale Law School (JD, 2008)

Yale Law Journal

    • , Articles and Essays Editor
    London School of Economics and Political Science (MSc, 2004)
    • Columbia University (BA,

summa cum laude

    • , 2003)
    Phi Beta Kappa

Judicial Clerkship:

    The Honorable Justice Morris J. Fish, Supreme Court of Canada, 2008 -2009

Calvin K. May
Business & Commercial Litigation

    • Rutgers School of Law – Newark (JD, 2009)
    • Dean’s Merit Scholar
    • Best Brief – 2008 Albert Cohn Appellate Competition
    Nathan N. Schildkraut Award for Excellence in Appellate Advocacy
    Cornell University (BA, 2001)

Judicial Clerkship:

    The Honorable James J. Munley, United States District Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania, 2009 – 2011

Anastasia S. Stathopoulos
Business & Commercial Litigation

    • New York University School of Law (JD, 2010)

Journal of Legislation and Public Policy

    , Notes Editor
    • Cornell University (BA, 2005)
    • Phi Beta Kappa
    Dean’s List, All Semesters

Judicial Clerkship:

    The Honorable Dorothea O’C. Wefing, Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division (temporarily assigned to the Supreme Court of New Jersey, June 2011), 2010 – 2011

Jillian T. Stein
Criminal Defense

    • Seton Hall University School of Law (JD,

cum laude

    • , 2010)

Seton Hall Law Review

    • , Senior Articles Editor
    • Chancellor Scholar
    • Center for Social Justice Outstanding Clinical Practitioners Award
    Best Brief Author for Appellant in Appellate Advocacy
    • University of Michigan (BA, 2004)
    • The National Dean’s List
    • University Honors
    • The National Society of Collegiate Scholars
    Delta Epsilon Iota National Honors Society

Judicial Clerkship:

    The Honorable Marie P. Simonelli, Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division, 2010 -2011

Brett S. Theisen
Financial Restructuring & Creditors’ Rights

    • Seton Hall University School of Law (JD,

magna cum laude

    • , 2010)
    • Order of the Coif

Seton Hall Sports & Entertainment Law Journal

    , Associate Articles Editor and Symposium Co-Chair
    Dartmouth College (BA, 2005)

Judicial Clerkship:

    The Honorable Donald H. Steckroth, United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of New Jersey, 2010 – 2011